Victoria Oladipo

Hi, my name is Victoria Oladipo and I am a Senior Government and Politics and Communications double major at the University of Maryland. I am from Upper Marlboro, Maryland and I want to emphasize the stereotypes of women in the music world. As a young woman I feel greatly affected by the negative portrayals associated with women in the media, especially in music videos and the music industry as a whole. For instance, women are usually portrayed as sex symbols and are often objectified in music videos.  Since there are very few rap or hip-hop songs that portray women in a positive or respectful way, this needs to be addressed. I want young women to know that even though “sex” sells they should not stoop to the minimal standards exemplified of women in the media. I believe it is a growing social issue that people are not aware of how bad it has become.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

